Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

dual batterys

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by k5blazerus, Feb 8, 2002.

  1. k5blazerus

    k5blazerus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Posts:
    654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    What is the best way to hook up dual batterys for a winch. I found out the hard way last monday in the snow that one battery is not going to cut it. I already have a High output alternator it it did not seem to be enough.
    You can se my stuck pictures at
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.community.webshots.com/user/k5blazerus>www.community.webshots.com/user/k5blazerus</a>
    go to snow wheeling photos
    Colin

    Save the whales Harpoon a fat chick.
     
  2. BlueKnight

    BlueKnight 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    um the best way si to use a hell roaring battery isolator and charger. It has a switch that can combine the two batteries or just the one in emergencies. Um I have a HS9500I and it was fine on one battery while the truck was idleing. what winch are you running?


    <font color=purple>79' K-5 396cid 600hp, TH350, NP203</font color=purple>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://blueknight.alloffroad.com>http://blueknight.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  3. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Do they have a website or do you know prices and where to get the stuff from?

    See <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Waynes-Toy>Project Mighty Mouse</a> here.
    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
     
  4. BlueKnight

    BlueKnight 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    i think it is http://www.hellroaring.com

    <font color=purple>79' K-5 396cid 600hp, TH350, NP203</font color=purple>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://blueknight.alloffroad.com>http://blueknight.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  5. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    If you want to run on one battery you need to have a higer amperage output one like a 800 or better. And you just have to use the winch at shorter intervals.

    **WARN**ing, Something winching this way comes! [​IMG]
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.mccords.s5.com/myk5/index.htm>NashvilleK5</a>
     
  6. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/fortcollinsram>My 87 Blazer
     
  7. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
  8. BlueKnight

    BlueKnight 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ah yes forgot all about that store. Yes you need to run at least a 800 cc amp battery. My winch only runs on the tellow optima deep cycle and it does great. But I also have three battereis in the event that one cuts out

    <font color=purple>79' K-5 396cid 600hp, TH350, NP203</font color=purple>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://blueknight.alloffroad.com>http://blueknight.alloffroad.com</a>
     

Share This Page