Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Dual CB Antennas

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by nad, Mar 3, 2006.

  1. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    Does placing dual cophased CB antennas closer than ten feet apart really weaken the signal? Someone was recently telling me this, since I have dual antennas on my mirrors. Anyone know for sure?
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    From what I've been told, yes.
     
  3. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Yes it does weaken them
     
  4. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Personally, I run a single high quality antenna.
     
  5. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Ditto, i have a single firestick on my burb.
     
  6. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    I just think one CB antenna kinda looks out of place. Duals look a lot better, but if it weakens the signal, I guess one is always better. Thanks guys.
     
  7. bcrewcaptain

    bcrewcaptain Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlottesville, Virginia
    short answer ...yes, unless you get them the proper distance apart(just over 8ft)
    go with one, its not worth the hassle of 2, it can be done with the right tuning but its a PAIN!
     
  8. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I've seen alot of people mount 2 antennas, but only run coax to 1 of then. Looks have never been a big issue for me, but if you want a second antenna as a dummy, go for it.
     
  9. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I run two 48 inch Barjan whips on my truck. Only one is hooked up. I was told that hooking up both screws up the output signals. I like the look of dual whips and i can afford the 18 bucks for a dummy.

    Here a pic of what they look like, i think just one wouldnt look that good.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. trailblazer86

    trailblazer86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Shore of Lake Ontario
    Even having the dummy antenna on the truck will "influence" your transmit and receive patterns.
    What this means is the dummy antenna will change the direction your system will transmit and receive best to/from.
    Most likely you will not see too much difference with the dummy on the rig though.
    How far are you trying to transmit?

    The best place for your antenna would be right in the middle of the roof.
    This gives me trouble as most of my offroading is in the woods.
    My solution is to mount my CB antenna on the bumper of my Blazer. This doesn't really bother me to much as the CB is only used on the trail anyway.

    I have ham radio to use if help is needed.
     
  11. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Its rare I ever try to transmit to someone that isnt in sight. IF they arent insight, they are never more then 3/4 or 1 mile away. I never had any problems.
     

Share This Page