Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Dual Exhaust

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by adamforsythe, Oct 31, 2004.

1. adamforsythe

adamforsythe 1/2 ton status

Hello,
    What duel exhaust system can I use on a 1985 K5 Blazer?
    I can't find a duel exhaust system for my truck.
    Thank
    Adam

2. GMCLegacy

GMCLegacy 1/2 ton status

i have no experience with off the shelf kits, i would recomend finding a local shop that bends pipe. ask around at the parts stores, they usaully can direct you to a decent place.

3. mahorney

mahorney Registered Member

My '86 Jimmy w/350 had flowmaster dual exhaust setup with headers (not sure what brand). Unfortunately, I was having trouble passing emissions and ripped it out to install a setup that would accomadate the A.I.R.

So I paid premium for a set of Edelbrock headers. Big mistake. They are specially built to replace original single exhuast and be emissions legal. I didn't notice any difference in power, but the fit is aweful! The cross tube hangs down under the front drive shaft even with the skid plate under the transfer case, very exposed. And it was supposed to bolt right in, but I had to do some cutting.

The Edelbrocks were expensive and poor fitting. I'll be either taking it in and having it custom rerouted or ripping it out and replacing it. I know that there was another header brand with A.I.R tubes for about half the price. Forget brand. I expect these are typical headers on the output side, but not certain. If so they might hook up to flowmaster. Or maybe flowmaster has an emissions legal setup. Not sure about that.