Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Dual Monitors?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Stickseler, Dec 7, 2002.

  1. Stickseler

    Stickseler 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    6,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Ive seen a few pics of people with 2 monitors...why? Im getting a new video card and monnitor soon and want to know...why? and should I do it?? and oh yea...why??
     
  2. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> I run duals at work because I do alot of work with spreadsheets and such. It's nice to be able to have 2 or 3 windows open at a time and not have to keep toggling back and forth. I ran duals at home for awhile but it was a pain in the butt, since alot of games change your resolution when you start them. That screws with stuff sometimes. Now I just run a 24" widescreen monitor at 1900x1200 resolution at home. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif </font color>
     
  3. Stickseler

    Stickseler 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    6,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Oh OK...

    Just a 24" /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  4. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    cool!...i run a 20"...its pretty cool..to bad my computer aint workin..
     
  5. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> Hey, going from dual 21s to a 24 is tough! You should feel bad for me! /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

    This is my monitor at home -

    [​IMG] </font color>
     
  6. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    We have a system at work that runs dual display's for every terminal. One side has a constant program window open running the critical features of the program, and the other side has some other changeable windows of the program open.

    In a friend of mine's office, I think everyone has a dual 17" flat panel (at least everyone on thier floor).
    Personally, if you can't run dual flat panels, I don't think the space trade-off is worth the computing benefits of dual CRT (full-size) displays.
     
  7. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    Shaggy,
    Where did you get the Sun Monitor?

    I'm waiting for the this 24" LCD

    Sun Monitor
     
  8. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    You guys do realize you're gettin' up there with TV sizes now, right??
     
  9. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    I can't wait to actually hook my PC up to a plasma screen tv!

    Bigger than life (*shudder*, some of the stuff I look at might freak me out!)

    I have had smaller TV's than the 21" Trinitron monitors I use now....

    Hopefully the next step will be scratch-and-sniff monitors. LOL
     
  10. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> Dave, I got the 24" from my work. Some moron opened a bunch of boxes the wrong way and scratched the screens on about 12 of them. We sold most of them on E-bay but the boss-man let some of us have one to use on our home systems. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif The scratch on mine is only about 3" long and not even noticable most of the time. </font color>
     
  11. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    buddy of mine has a TV-out card on his computer and he uses his 40" TV as his monitor /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  12. willyswanter

    willyswanter 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Posts:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    Yeah but the problem there is the tv can't even compare to the quality or resolution of a monitor...
     
  13. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    I bet that was something to see! As long as you weren't the moron /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

    That was cool of him to share the spoils....
     
  14. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I run dual's on work PC too. First ones a 21" and the seconds a 19". Its real nice for multiple windows and whatnot. Easy to set up.
     
  15. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> I don't even know who it was. The department I work in basically gets in all the old equipment and figures out what to do with it. With something like this, we can't send it out because it ends up costing the company, and specifically our department, alot of money. Say we send out a monitor with a big scratch in it. The user says that it's no big deal to him, but then in 6 months that user quits and someone else gets the monitor. I gaurantee they will be calling us saying that their monitor has a big scratch in it and they want a replacement. Since replacements for damaged equipment need to be equal or better quality, that means we need to shell out $1800 from our budget to buy a new one for them. So, in the end it saves money just to ditch the damaged goods in the first place. Usually we sell it, but the department manager is pretty cool about letting us have something cool now and then. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif One of the few benefits of working in this department. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif</font color>
     
  16. MudFrog

    MudFrog 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Posts:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daleville, Va
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    We sold most of them on E-bay but the boss-man let some of us have one to use on our home systems

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I was actually thinking about bidding on that!

    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    Yeah but the problem there is the tv can't even compare to the quality or resolution of a monitor...


    [/ QUOTE ]

    An HDTV monitor like I have will, I hook my 47" widescreen HDTV monitor up to my computer, at the moment it doesn't look so great because I only use S-Video, but as soon as I get a VGA to Component adapter the PC is gonna look mighty sweet on the TV.
     

Share This Page