Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ebay find for somebody

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by baldamish, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. baldamish

    baldamish 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wadsworth, Ohio
  2. 81K5GUY

    81K5GUY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rockingham ,N.C.
    wow $152
     
  3. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    yeah that is funny.. I paid $25 for mine... :haha:
     
  4. K5er4Life

    K5er4Life 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellflower, Ca
    Its gonna go for a bit more than that, thats for sure...your lucky to get your that cheap. I havent seen one in a yard around here. Although I wouldnt pay near that for that cluster.
     
  5. tiger9297

    tiger9297 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tupelo, Mississippi
    My question is this: Why can't I just go to some aftermarket vendor and buy the stand alone tach. and put it in my truck? I've never seen one of those tachs.
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    So what year is that? Pictures are kind of crummy, but the tach looks like the last year they (verifiably) installed them in the trucks, yet the speedo looks like the 100MPH variant. Appears to have the cutout on the back for VSS, and no separate wiring harness for 4wd light, which I think puts it as post-'81.
     
  7. chriskh

    chriskh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    I had a '76 that had that same cluster in it. I tried to switch it out into my other '76. :haha: Well, I tried... Turned out to be way more involved than I had anticipated once I had the dash panels off and everything apart. So I installed an old VDO tach I found on ebay... http://www.coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153762

    Once I found where each wire went, I mounted it right on the steering colum and called it a day. Still works great. :waytogo:
     

Share This Page