Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ebrakes not working

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by _DeeVee8_, Nov 29, 2000.

  1. _DeeVee8_

    _DeeVee8_ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need my factory working EBrake working for a state inspection sticker. I have wheel chocks on ropes right now(with the lines running to the cab)(like airport style)

    whats a better way to fix this? rip it out and fudge in a hand ebrake? I've seen some pretty neato toyota handles to the left of the console between the seats b4 and looked really ultra swanky. (much more control with the button on top)

    my cable extends back to the rears fine and all but the covering has"exploded"

    what would workbest, what have you heard.?
    it's a daily driver with auto trans...10 bolts 33's
    a real Work in progress....

    -Dv8
     
  2. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    I'm lost, what happened to your stock foot e-brake?

    blazen91
    Protect the land FOR the people
    <font color=red>Not FROM the people</font color=red>
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Are you saying that your e-brake cables are not any good? If so, you can buy replacements pretty cheap. Auto parts stores carry them so you don't have to get screwed at the dealer. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com
     
  4. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    Just replace the E brake cable. Its pretty simple, and its cheap.
     
  5. _DeeVee8_

    _DeeVee8_ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Ebrakes not working-ebrake assembly not included

    ok, maybe I have not included enough info-- theres no cables to the rear.. except for two cables coming from the rear axle and stop just ahead of the gas tank tied up out of the way.
    The pedal is gone as well. Thats why I use airport style wheel chocks on hills when I leave the beast for extended periods of time(days and all weekend)(live on side of hill in town--and just below is a parking lot full of expensive little toy like SUVS)

    so I'd need a complete set up deal.
    -Dv8
     
  6. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    Re: Ebrakes not working-ebrake assembly not included

    Jamar has a hydrolic lock style unit we use on sand rails. I don't think it would pass your inspection, though. I would check in the parts section and see who's parting out a truck. I would guess an e-brake system wouldn't be a highlly wanted item. Hope I helped.

    blazen91
    Protect the land FOR the people
    <font color=red>Not FROM the people</font color=red>
     

Share This Page