Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

echobit style flip question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sandawgk5, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    Are there any design issues with the echobit style of shackle flip? I dont see many people running them is it just because they dont make them anymore are is there something fundamentally wrong with the design.

    Thanks

    Ira
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'd say it is because they are no longer made(seems to be an obvious reason why people aren't getting them). Plenty of people run them, and did buy them, when they were sold.
     
  3. ksblaze83

    ksblaze83 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    not possitive if he's still selling them, but backyardbuilt sold me a set about a year ago.
     
  4. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,680
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    The design was fine...


    The only complaints I'd heard were about the build quality (fit issues mostly) and then of course the whole fiasco where the company took a bunch of money for orders and then closed up shop and disappeared....

    I actually bought a new-in-box Echobit flip kit a while back. My intention was to duplicate the original kit (maybe making a few improvements) and then start offering it for sale again. I feel that the market is still strong for the product, especially from a source with the integrity to fill orders in a timely manner and deliver a quality product....


    :thinking:


    Hmmmmm......maybe I should build a couple dozen and start pimping them as a "Vendor" around here to test my theory?
     
  5. ZooMad75

    ZooMad75 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Posts:
    998
    Likes Received:
    583
    Location:
    Pueblo, CO
    I've got the echobit flip on mine. Got it used with no instructions. qualitywise mine were very well built, nice welds. My problem was since it had been used the process of torquing the bolt that holds it to the stock hanger caused the ends to pinch in. This made for a tight fit over my hangers. Only thing we could use to open it up was a hydraulic porta-power. But once we did the flip brackets slid right on.

    Way easier than drilling/removing the rivits and installing brackets in the stock location.
     
  6. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    Are you stuck with running 52s with this setup or will the shackle accomadate for the extra 4" of spring on a 56. The echobit style flip is by far more simple than drilling rivits but I want to run 56's for obvious reasons :D

    Thanks

    Ira
     
  7. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    The echobit flip was designed to bolt to your existing spring hanger.
     
  8. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    I know I was just wondering if you could only run 52s with it or can I run 56s.

    Ira
     
  9. bigbadchev84

    bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hermiston, Oregon
    does anyone have pics?
     
  10. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    There is a set in the for sale section with pics.

    here

    Ira
     
  11. alf4444

    alf4444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T-ville, ut.

    Nope.. I finished mine yesterday I'll post pics all you'd have to do is swap what bracket goes on what side..hope that makes sense..But i am now running 52" springs :D
     
  12. alf4444

    alf4444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T-ville, ut.
  13. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    If I gotta remove rivets anyway I will just go with the ORD or DIY flip to allow me to run 56s.

    Thanks for the info.

    Ira
     
  14. alf4444

    alf4444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T-ville, ut.

    I didn't remove any rivets :confused:
     
  15. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    I understand that to run 52s there is no need to remove rivets. However I intend to run 56s which requires the spring hangers to be moved rearward=>I would have to remove the rivets inorder to move the spring hanger.

    Ira
     
  16. ZooMad75

    ZooMad75 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Posts:
    998
    Likes Received:
    583
    Location:
    Pueblo, CO
    Somebody might chime in here, but I thought I remember seeing on the ecobit website that you could run 56" springs if you swap the brackets side to side.... If you look at the holes, the new hole for the shackle is not directly in line with the upper hole where the bracket bolts to the stock spring hanger.

    Do some searching and I think you might find an old thread on the guy from echobit using 56" springs.
     
  17. BozoWise

    BozoWise 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    You can run a 56" with the echobit. No rivets to move, but I would suggest a longer shackel for a bit better angle. You can see the longer belltech shackel in my pictures :D
     
  18. alf4444

    alf4444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T-ville, ut.
    EDIT!

    pics above are 56" springs :D
     
  19. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    oohhhhhhh. I thought you had 52s MY BAD :D :D

    I misunderstood I thought you meant you had to swap the spring hangers side to side not the echobit brackets.

    Thanks

    Ira
     
  20. Poohbair

    Poohbair 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Posts:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    I have the Echobit flip in my K5, and I have beat the SH!T out of that thing for over 3 years w/o any problems at all. I run mine w/ the sides switched and a longer shackle w/ Ford 57's and it works perfect... and stretches the wheelbase out around 6" or so.
     

Share This Page