Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ecm & Tcc ?

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by CB77GMC, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. CB77GMC

    CB77GMC 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Heath Springs, SC
    Will a ECM 7747 control the TCC and High gear switch on 700r4 without the VSS installed ?
     
  2. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    you don't even need the ECM to controal the lock up, all you need is 12v to the transmission
     
  3. CB77GMC

    CB77GMC 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Heath Springs, SC
    Yes, I know this. But was wondering does ECM need VSS to control TCC & High gear.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2006
  4. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Ecm does not control high gear or shifting of any kind on a 700r4. Shifting is controled by throttle valve and governor.
    ECM only controls the torque convertor lockup. ECM needs input from VSS to lock up the TC.
     
  5. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    the ECM isnt necessary to control lockup.
     
  6. CB77GMC

    CB77GMC 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Heath Springs, SC
    Cool Thanks :D
     

Share This Page