Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ECU location?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Piranha300, Jan 10, 2004.

  1. Piranha300

    Piranha300 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Before I tear into my 91k5 looking for it I was wondering if someone could tell me where it is? Also the parts store here has 3 to choose from... how can I identify mine? Thanks
     
  2. skratch

    skratch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gorveport, OH
    Should be behind the glove box and a little bit up.

    You can match it by the serial number on the tag which is on the ECU.
     
  3. Piranha300

    Piranha300 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
  4. skratch

    skratch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gorveport, OH
    No problem, always ready to help a fellow Cornhusker out! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif[​IMG]

    I hope that helps.
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Just make sure it's the ECM before you go and buy one. They do go bad, but ratio of times ECM's are replaced vs. actual fixes from that is pretty low.
     
  6. Piranha300

    Piranha300 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Yea I hope its my fix. When it gets real cold the tranny wont shift until I reset the computer. When warmed up things are fine. My TPS sensor is new. It went bad at the same time as my brake sensor.
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    So do you get a code 12 when you test the ECM? There are ways to diagnose this short of replacing the whole thing.
     
  8. BayouBlazer88

    BayouBlazer88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    Just curious, is the part your replacing the entire metal computer box or just one of the chips? And if its the entire unit you're replacing, how much did the ones you saw cost and what store?
     

Share This Page