Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Edelbrock 1406- can't get full throttle

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by odoa3, Sep 15, 2004.

  1. odoa3

    odoa3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Edelbrock 1406- can\'t get full throttle

    When I put my foot into the throttle I can't get full throttle. I think it is something to do with how the cable is run. It runs through a bracket that bolts on the carb. However, the bracket does not fit on both carb studs. Does anyone have a 1406- if so how did you mount the throttle cable? Pictures would be great if you have them.
     
  2. or2play

    or2play 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yuma, Arizona
    Re: Edelbrock 1406- can\'t get full throttle

    I have a bracket that goes on the two back studs. The cable attaches to the front of the linkage. I can get some pictures before I go to work on Wednesday.
     
  3. 454k30

    454k30 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California, MD
    Re: Edelbrock 1406- can\'t get full throttle

    I had to get an adjustable bracket to get mine to open all the way. Without adjusting the bracket back toward the firewall about half and inch the cable was to loose and the first inch throttle cable travel was lost.
     
  4. odoa3

    odoa3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Re: Edelbrock 1406- can\'t get full throttle

    My cable is pretty loose as well. I bet that is the issue. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif Where did you get an adjustable bracket?
     
  5. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    Re: Edelbrock 1406- can\'t get full throttle

    The stock brackets work the best. Go to the junk yard and get one.

    -Chris
     
  6. odoa3

    odoa3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Re: Edelbrock 1406- can\'t get full throttle

    I have the stock bracket right now, I believe. Only one bolt will match up with Edelbrock carb.
     

Share This Page