Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Edelbrock 1406 carb on spread bore intake?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by odoa3, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. odoa3

    odoa3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Wondering if anyone has put an Edelbrock 1406 on a spread bore intake without an adapter, just using the standard four hole gasket? The previous owner of my K5 had the Edelbrock carb on using an adapter, but the adaptar covers half of the primaries :eek1:! I am thinking that this could be causing some of my power loss issue.
    Thanks guys.
     
  2. MattK

    MattK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    you mean like tapping the current intake?
     
  3. y5mgisi

    y5mgisi 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Posts:
    17,156
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    it only works if you have an edelbrock intake. They are drilled and tapped to acomadate bot styles and will seal fine using either style carb.
     
  4. odoa3

    odoa3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    I have Weind dual plain, spread bore intake., I was hoping to put a Quadrajet on it, but the the three we tried this weekend, didn't work. My buddy thinks we are not getting a good seal. So I was hoping to use the Edelbrock without the completely incorrect adapter that was on it. Guess I will have to spend some money on the correct adapter.
     
  5. johnathan

    johnathan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ocean Springs,MS
    I have a 1406 on my stock spreadbore manifold, I did use an adapter though,sounds like the wrong adapter to me.
     

Share This Page