Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Edelbrock 1406 elec choke question

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by HarryL, Apr 2, 2001.

  1. HarryL

    HarryL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Layton, UT (20 miles north of SLC)
    from where do I run a live wire to the electric choke? This edelbrock seems to run goofy without the electric choke hooked up.

    Thanks

    Harry
     
  2. blazin72

    blazin72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I ran mine to the fuse box to where it has power when the switch is on. Look for the same power wire that the radio is going to on the fuse box and that one should work.


    Blazin 72
     
  3. HarryL

    HarryL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Layton, UT (20 miles north of SLC)
    Well, I don't have a radio hooked up yet, but it should be easy enough to find "radio" marked on the fuse box, eh?

    Thanks for your help.

    Harry
     
  4. Steve_Chin

    Steve_Chin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Posts:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Foster City, CA, USA
    Don't use the radio power. It switches on with the accessory positino as well as with the ignition. Make a splitter wire and use the IGN terminal on the fuse box.
     
  5. HarryL

    HarryL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Layton, UT (20 miles north of SLC)
    Hola Steve,

    Please explain a little more precisely what you mean by "make a splitter wire". It probably makes sense if I think about it :-), but I was wondering if you would just 'splain me.

    Thanks

    Harry
     
  6. blazin72

    blazin72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yea
    Let me clear that up the radio wire would work but like he said it would be on in accessory mode as well.
    I dont know if that would hurt but probably wouldnt be right.
    I was just trying to give you a idea on how it wires up.
    Just splice into the ignition wire on the fuse box.


    Blazin 72
     
  7. Steve_Chin

    Steve_Chin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Posts:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Foster City, CA, USA
    Harry, what I call a "splitter wire" is one that splits the single terminal on a given electrical circuit into two. In this case, it'd have a female connector that would connect to the single male lead marked IGN on the fuse box. There'd be two reasonably sized wires coming out of this female connector (14 AWG), and each would end in a male connector. The original ignition lead would connect to one of the male connectors, and the new choke lead would connect to the other male connector. Basically, it "splits" the power...
     
  8. HarryL

    HarryL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Layton, UT (20 miles north of SLC)
    Steve,

    Thanks for your precise reply. I could see it in my mind as I read it. I'm going to go out and try that in a little bit.

    Now if I could only get my foreign language lesson plans that clear!


    Harry
     

Share This Page