Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

edelbrock carb

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mundosk5, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. mundosk5

    mundosk5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    booty booty land
    hey just got a edelbrock carb and on my current setup i have 350 chevy with a q jet carb and new fuel pump (mech) and 2 new filters (one inline i installed !!my question is will i have enough fuel pressure with the stock mech fuel pump to simply bolt on my new carb??? or do i have to go buy a new fuel pump and filters???
     
  2. WantedaDodge

    WantedaDodge 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    Should have plenty of fuel pressure unless your pump is worn out.

    I'm not a big fan of edelbrocks, so I never ran them much, but I've been told they shouldn't get much more then like 6 PSI fuel pressure or they'll leak. I don't know if that's true or not, maybe someone can confirm.
     
  3. 90v1500

    90v1500 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    I run several Edelbrock carbs and ideal on any carb is about 6 lbs. but a stock mechanical pump can put out 8 - 10 lbs. and I don't have any problems at that pressure...:D
     
  4. mundosk5

    mundosk5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    booty booty land
    so u have ran with the stock mech fuel pump with no problems???
     
  5. fordeater

    fordeater 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    I've got an edelbrock on my 350 with stock mechanical fuel pump. It runs fine with no problems at all.
     
  6. TC70C10

    TC70C10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    harvest, AL
    Same here. I run two fuel filters. No problems.. Their manual says 4-5psi. If yours is still starving for gas it says you can switch to their larger needle and seat #1466.

    I might try swapping the needle and seat to their off-road setup #1465. I use my truck to 4 wheel quite a bit during hunting season
     
  7. 90v1500

    90v1500 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Yeah, stock pumps no problems... Sometimes you can have to much pressure, you need to check your fuel pressure. If it gets to high it can push pass the float and flood the engine with to much fuel...:rolleyes:
     
  8. mundosk5

    mundosk5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    booty booty land
    :wink1: i can start wrenching asp to get that carb on!!!!
     

Share This Page