Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Educate me Torque converter

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jekquistk5, Jul 27, 2005.

1. jekquistk5

jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Ok, So I will be tearing down into my tranny to replace seals, because its leaking arround the bellhousing, and I figure Since I have to pull the tranny while its out why not replace the torque converter with a better one. So for offroading whats the best? I was looking at jegs with there street /stip converters that have a 2800-3000, and 3200-3600 rpm stall. Whats the best, and explain to me stall? thanks guys i'm new to auto trannies. :thumb:

2. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

You match the stall speed of the convertor to your cams power curve. So if you have a cam that has a power band say between 2500 - 6000 RPM you would want at least a 2800 stall convertor.
    Stock cam = stock convertor.
    For off road you should use the lowest stall convertor you can. The lower RPM your convertor hydraulicly locks the less heat it will generate.

3. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

FYI, stock stall speed on a fullsize is about 1400. ive always put a 1600 stall converter in my trucks (s10s with 4.3s). the cars i put a 2000 stall converter in (corvettes, 9C1s)

i really like the 1600 stall for sand and mud, its better on the street and on the trail (IMHO) than the lower 1400 stall.

4. dirtwarrior17

dirtwarrior17 Banned