Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

efi 101

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by k5redneck, Dec 21, 2004.

1. k5redneck

k5redneck 1/2 ton status

well there is good news in my world, i just picked up a complete tbi motor with computer and every thing for 550 bucks out of an 89 blazer. now my problem is that i have never done a efi swap before. and im unshure what im geting my self into. what problems do u think i will have? its geting swaped into a 74 k5 with a 350 auto. i need to have it done in a week because its my dd, so post up any problem that u ran into.

2. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

Your problem areas will be fuel delivery. You will need an electric fuel pump to supply the TBI setup and you will need a fuel return line to the gas tank.

If you have the money buy a painless wiring kit for the truck. It will make life alot easier.

Are you going to swap the whole motor or just swap the injection?

I would recommend swapping the whole motor if it ran fine when pulled.

Harley

3. k5redneck

k5redneck 1/2 ton status

im swaping the whole motor in. the motor i have right now has a dead hole and burns oil like gas. i dont have the cash for the painless wireing kit but the stock wireing is still in good shape and uncut. the new motor i got has just been rebuilt about 15k ago and runs strong. i drove the blazer before the motor was pulled. should i get a tbi fuel tank and pump, or use an aftermarket pump and run a return line? if im right i should have a return line allready ran to my fuel pump on the block. can i still use that line?

4. Hossbaby50

The best way is to get the fuel tank, fuel sender, and fuel pump from an 87+ K5. That will take care of your fuel pump, have the provision for the return line, and take care of the baffle problem.