Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Electric choke question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sickquad, Jan 5, 2005.

  1. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    I have a stupid question. Been trying to tune my carb. It is a edelbrock 600cfm with an electric choke and is less than a year old.

    I don't think my choke is acting correctly.

    My question is in the electric choke circuit. It has switched power going into the choke, I checked with a voltmeter. Now on the ground connection I'm not seeing any power going out. If the circuit is working correctly shouldn't I see something on the ground side of the choke circuit. I disconnected the ground and grounded it to the frame with my voltmeter and got nothing.

    Any ideas

    If I'm just being stupid feel free to let me know

    -chris
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    You should only get a reading from the choke ground if your testing it WHILE the choke is on
     
  3. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    I'm testing it with the key on and I know there is power going in.
     
  4. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I'm not so sure about the Edelbrock, but the Q-jet just grounded through the carb body. Also, on my 83 there was only choke power when there was oil pressure I believe (went through the oil pressure switch).

    I doubt that was helpful, but FWIW.
     
  5. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    yah these aftermarket electric chokes have ground and hot spades, two, they dotn self ground to carb body like roch and carter electric chokes do

    you wont see any current flow at ground wire just by touching it with tester, but you may see a little if you put tester in series between the wire and the engine or neg post on battery

    with key on, with hot connected to choke

    you hjave to be IN the circuit,
    not at it to see current flow

    but youre wasting brains anyways, the wire is grounded so thats it, its fine,

    make sure it is though

    when it is then youre done

    choke should be working, key on

    if not then its junk


    good luck
     
  6. chevy_muscle

    chevy_muscle 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murphy, tx
    R72K5,

    I think there is a little confusion,..... he's using a Volt meter and not a current meter.
     
  7. RustBuket

    RustBuket 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    If there is current flowing in then there is current flowing out. Thats the end of the story. Its working.
     

Share This Page