Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Electric Choke

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 1975k5, Oct 29, 2001.

  1. 1975k5

    1975k5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Long story short, there is no wire connected to the positive side of my electric choke. What source does this wire need to be, i.e. ignition, constant 12v, ?

    Thanx
     
  2. Storm Trooper

    Storm Trooper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2000
    Posts:
    4,640
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dillon Colorado, Hang'in in the mountains. Renting
    Off the ignition switch.

    [​IMG]<font color=red>[/b]"Rid'in HigH in my K5"[​IMG]
    ....[​IMG]<font color=blue>[/b]"8" Lift -<font color=purple>38.5's"[​IMG]....
     
  3. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    There needs to be a inline oil presure switch on electric chokes. What this does is keeps the choke from getting power unless the engine is running. That way if you say flip the switch to ig or run turn on the radio or what ever the choke is not cycling. you can grab the switch off any mid 80's GM with a V engine. Will either be behind the distributor or above the oil filter. The plug will have 2-3 wires depending on the carb. if you remove the plug the switch will have 2 terminals.

    Women dig dents and flat paint!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s>communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s</a>
    75 Jimmy, Dollar
    Grim-Reaper
     

Share This Page