Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Electrical/Mechanical Quadrajet info

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Itali83, Jul 15, 2002.

1. Itali83

Itali83 1/2 ton status

I just picked up an 86 Olds Cutlass Supreme for my college beater. It's really a nice car and not much of a beater but more a daily driver. It's got the olds 307 v-8 and a 4bbl Quadrajet thats got some electrical junk on it. This is my first carbed vehicle so I'm new to carbs. My father is good with carbs, but not quadrajets, he's dealt with holleys and thermoquads. It runs nice now but I'm looking for info on how to tune it, and steal as much power as I can from it. I've already learned that the secondary air valve only opens part way to limit air flow and I've also heard that I can get shorter secondary metering rods to richen up the secondarys. I'm just looking for info you guys have on what to do and what not to do. I've heard horror stories about quadrajunks as I know them, They can be a sweet carb when tuned, but absalute junk when not. I really want to get that deep sound when I punch it and the secondaries kick in like I've heard with other vaccume secondary cars. I'm going to do away with the smog equipment and cat becuase I'm going to tennesee with it and no one cares down there. It's got dual exhaust and I'm ordering two 40 series flowmaster muffs for it also, I'm keeping the money to a minimum because it's just going to be my beater. And info you guys have on the carb/motor/car or anything else you guys have is much appreciated. Thanks Here are some pics of it http://community.webshots.com/album/42900069KYLcfL
    Ben 87 Jimmy

2. Blazer_Boy

Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status