Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Electrical question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Muddytazz, Mar 27, 2003.

  1. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I've got a simple one for someone more knowledgable than me /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif the junction block on the firewall, is it a switched power or constant power feed?
     
  2. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    thats what test lights are for /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    which junction block? if its the one with the FAT thick red wire to the starter, mine is constant /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    yeah is the one up and to the left (standing at front bumper) of the mc/brake booster with the thick red wire.....my dads burb has a brand new battery and if you let is sit without starting it for a couple days, battery will be 100% drained, chargable, but drained. He hooked up his edelbrock 1406 electric choke to that spot, and i'm thinking that the choke is supposed to be a switch power and not constant and that is whats draining the battery.
     
  4. Panther

    Panther 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I believe it's constant. On my 90, power ran from the battery to the live starter post and then up to the junction block and then into the cab (in addition to other places). Invest in at least a cheap test light for stuff like that.
     
  5. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I do have a good test light multimeter, just i'm at home and the burb is at my dads house....trying to gather info before i go over to have a lookie see /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. frankin5

    frankin5 Super Mall Crawler Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Posts:
    882
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    chico,calif
    JEFF
    That block is constantly hot. You need to run choke /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif from switched source.
     
  7. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Thanks John

    Thats the kind of answer i like to hear /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Constant power, and yes an electric choke will drain the battery if not on a switched source.

    John /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     

Share This Page