Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Electronic Speedometer ?'s

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rusty79beast, Sep 19, 2005.

1. rusty79beast

rusty79beast Registered Member

I just purchased another Blazer. This time it's a 1991 and I'm new to the whole electronic speedometer setup. Well first off the speedometer doesn't work, so my question would be what steps would I take in diagnosing the non-working speedometer? Is there a sensor some where? If so how do I check it? I also read in a past column you can somehow check to see if the computer is getting the correct speed signal? How is that done and what does that tell you?

I couldn't resist the price on this "new" blazer. $1000 dollars with the only major just being the rocker panels and a little over the rear fenders. The A/C even still works. It has 148000 miles on it, but the previous owner says the speedometer just stopped working while he was selling it so who knows! Well I hope someone can help me out!

Thanks guys :bow:

2. tiger9297

tiger9297 1/2 ton status

My speedometer was intermittant and then just quit working on my '90 K5 which, I think, is the first of the electronic speedometers. I replaced the plug on the transmission but that didn't work. It ended up being the printed circuit. I ordered one from LMN but the one they sent me was not for an electronic speedo. I ended up getting pushed for time so I just took it to the dealership and let them fix that problem plus a few other things. Works perfectly now. Good luck, and in my opinion the 90-91's are the best year models. :D

3. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

If you've got cruise and it works, you've just eliminated the VSS on the tranny, and the wiring leading up to the DRAC.