Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Embarassing question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 78Suburban, Jul 9, 2005.

1. 78Suburban

78Suburban 1/2 ton status

This is kinda humiliating to ask, but I am new to working on my own 4x4. It's time for me to do some basic maintance and I need some help. How do I cange the oil in my 203 t-case and how much do I put (I know its 10w30). How do I cange the oil in both diffs and what weight/brand should I use and how much? what type of ATF do I put in my turbo400 and again, how do I change (drain&fill) it and how much do I put? Is there some sort of transmission filter I need to change as well? My 350 takes 7 quarts of oil, right? what wieght would yall recommend for the Georgia summer heat?

I feel retarded for asking these basic questions, but I have always been lazy and broght my trucks to the shop for maintence, except for engine oil. I really dont want to shell out the money for someone else to do all of this. Any advise/instructions on how to do these maintence procedures would be Greatly appreciated.

2. thatK30guy

thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

Drain the 203 by removing one of the lower bolts on the very back part of the case where you see a round aluminum cover, about 8" in diameter and let the fluids flow out. The fill plug is on the back part right by that cover, too, to fill it back up.

The axles need to have the covers removed to get the oil out. Remove the bolts, drain, clean up the covers, install a new gasket and/or RTV sealant and bolt the covers back on. Fill the axles up with 80/90 oil.