Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

emissions on a 84

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Seventy4Blazer, Nov 8, 2003.

  1. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    ok, so im putting a new crate motor in an 84. the guy is going from a 305 to a 350. from an electric emissions quadrajet to a holly 600. ditching the smog all together. the install is simple. but what do i do with all the "extra" wires? any of them NEEDED so the check engine light does not go on? or so the 5? wire distributor will work right?
    thanks.
    Grant
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    There shouldn't be a check engine light.
     
  3. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Which "extra" wires are you talking about? I swapped a 350 in my 84 and used all the same wiring/dist. I also ditched all the smog. I don't think 84s came with a "Service Engine" light.
    Check it out.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    you are correct on the CEL. as for the extra wires im talking about the ones that went into the carb.
    Grant
     
  5. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    I know what your talking about. I have a bunch of wires that go to the smog pump,dist,carb,evaperation canister, and a few other spots. I just left all the extra sensor wires disconnected and zip tied them to the firewall.I swapped in an edel. q-jet and vaccum advance dist. instead of the ESC. My check engine light stays on all the time but I get used to it. I don't really know what needs to be plugged in to make the light go off but I will probably just take the bulb out next time I have the guage bezel off. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif If anyone knows what wires are connected to the CE light I would like to know too.
     
  6. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    can i keep the current distributor?
    Grant
     
  7. VisionxOrb

    VisionxOrb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Posts:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newbury Park, Ca
    [ QUOTE ]
    can i keep the current distributor?
    Grant

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Yes all the HEIs are the same really, if you want to ditch the ESC as I did on my 84 then you just need a new 4 pin moduale and pull out the adapter piece ( that connects to the ESC )between the magnetic pickup and the origial 7 pin ( i think ) moduale.
     
  8. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    well, let me ask it this way. can i keep it as it is?
    no mods?
    thanks.
    Grant
     
  9. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Re: emissions on a 84 anybody?

    [ QUOTE ]
    well, let me ask it this way. can i keep it as it is?
    no mods?
    thanks.
    Grant

    [/ QUOTE ]

    anybody? do i have to mod to the older style with a vacume advance?
    Grant
     
  10. Chevit

    Chevit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dnaltroP, nogerO
    I left mine the way it was...84 stock 305 to 350
     
  11. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I'm sure someone will chime in and second guess me, but if that is truly a CCC carb (electronic controlled, 2 electrical plugs not counting the choke) then yes, you HAVE to replace the dist.

    The non-CCC Q-jets that have a wire plug on the passenger side front top of the carb won't need the dist. replaced, but you'll need to do the "non-ESC dist. mod" that has been talked about on the board before.

    If it's a true CCC system, then you should get a check engine light (perhaps it's "choke" on early CCC trucks?) but if its not CCC, I don't believe any light will come on.

    Again if really CCC, bundle the wires up in a corner, never know when it will be needed again.

    Dunno how tranny lockup was handled on the ECM controlled trucks, probably still a seperate harness/controller.
     
  12. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    well, his carb was shot and the cost to rebuild the electric quadrajet was out the roof. so we swapped in a nice manifold and carb along with the 350. and now a new distributor is in the works.
    Grant
     
  13. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    yep it's a fortune to rebuild the CCC carbs. I have the true CCC setup on my truck(had) and my check engine light stays on now that the extra wires are bundled up and zip tied to the firewall. As far as the lock up goes it won't work with everything disconnected but I am going to buy a B&M shifter with the 12volt button handle wired for the lockup.
     
  14. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Mine didn't come with ESC.. (I suppose that is Electronic Spark Control) right?
     
  15. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    correct
     
  16. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    here is a question. i thought 700r4's came out in 86. this 84 has one and is A) factory, or B) they did a swap so EVERYTHING is factory in appearance.
    Grant
     
  17. santana

    santana 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa Arizona
    Mine had one also, as a matter of fact it's sitting right here in my garage. I used a newer 88 model 700r4. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  18. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    is that the only soloution for the lockup? one of the kits? im guessing the carb and ESC and other crap tell the tranny when to lock up then huh...
    i dont like automatics, so i dont pay attention to them like i should. if the 700r does not lock up you just loose gas mileage right?
    Grant
     
  19. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    700's came out in '82 IIRC. My '83 had one.

    FWIW the CCC carbs are no more expensive to rebuild than standard Q-jets, unless you want to replace the TPS and MCS. The TPS commonly is worn out by 100K, never seen a bad MCS though.
     
  20. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    well, the thing leaks out of places i didnt know carbs could leak....
    i looked at it and it looks like it was in a fire at one point and is warped a but. had 2 gaskets under it to make it seal up.
    grant
     

Share This Page