Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Engagement Rings

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Boss, Sep 24, 2002.

1. Boss

Boss 1/2 ton status Author

Ok, I'm young (25), all my friends are young like me, Don't have any married friends, so I'm a rookie and will be the first among friends to...you know...go the distance /forums/images/icons/smirk.gif
    I don't think this topic was ever discussed on ck5...something new right /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

Just a couple questions:

Why are Platinum ring settings worth more than white gold? Are they tougher, harder to scuff? they basically "look" the same in color...?? but the platinums are more $$$.

Another thing, am I crazy to even consider spending like $4 G's on a ring? /forums/images/icons/confused.gif /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif

I was "browsing" the jewelers at the mall the other day, thinking that I will go all out and spend $1K on a ring. But after checking out all these rings, it seems that any under $3 to $4k were a joke...I mean, really looked dinky (my opinion). So, now I'm thinking I gotta suck it up and fork out around $4 G's!! Who knows...

Funny, I was checking out this one ring, and then asked the teller, "how much?"
    She said "$1200, but the ring is on clearance for 50% off"
    I was like "Really? $600! /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif , I'll take it!! /forums/images/icons/cool.gif "
    Then she was like, "How the hell do you get $600 from $4200!! /forums/images/icons/mad.gif "
    I laughed and said "heheheh, Oh, I thought you said $1200, but you actually said $4200...hehehe /forums/images/icons/blush.gif "
    She just looked at me and didn't even smile! Mean old Lady! /forums/images/icons/mad.gif
    I just handed her back the ring and walked away embarrassed! /forums/images/icons/blush.gif LOL

2. Swanson52