Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Engine Oil?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by JeremyK5, Jan 9, 2002.

1. JeremyK5

JeremyK5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Today I checked my oil and it was almost a quart low. When I took off the filler cap it was covered with a thin layer of a white-ish gel, and it had a fairly strong gas smell. What could cause this? How soon do I need to change the oil, immediately or can I put it off for a week or two?

2. JeremyK5

3. Greenblazer-AZ

Greenblazer-AZ 1/2 ton status

Sounds like water in your oil. that is bad. Could be a blown head gasket or a cracked head or block. Don't take my word for it I am not a mechanic, I just play one on tv...I mean in my back yard.

If you knew the truth, you too would be against marijuana prohibition!
    Blue '74 K5 Blazer Topless W/ 35 BFG Muds (See profile for pics)

4. 1975k5

1975k5 Registered Member

How far do you usually drive your Blazer? Sounds to me like you have a buildup of condensation or moisture in your valve cover. That means that you should let your engine come up to operating temp as often as you can when you drive. This burns the condensation or moisture from the oil. Water in the oil will show up on the dipstick as a milky substance not looking like oil. Also, your oil level will be high and water level will be low.

But, thats my opinion. Tom

5. ArrowheadK5

ArrowheadK5 1/2 ton status

I agree with 1975k5.
    My 87 did this too, like a snotty substance under the oil filler cap. Nothing unusual on the dipstic, though.
    Now, my new truck (same year and engine) shows nothing underneatth the cover.
    I was told by a mechanic that it does not always mean headgasket failure, but could just be condensation from not running at temp, as stated above.