Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Engine Shimmy

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ohio_frotyk5, Aug 3, 2000.

1. ohio_frotyk5

ohio_frotyk5 Registered Member

Wow I finally got logged in on here! Anyways Id like to say Hi.Heres the problem... my Blazer runs real good in idle but when I put her into gear she likes to shimmy a little bit. The Engine has been rebuilt 50,000 ago and so has the Tranny at 25,000 miles. Id like to think its just maybe a loose bolt or two but then I really dont know. What do you think? Im 18 so Im just beginning and learning alot so any help would be greatttt. Thanks

2. BigBurban

BigBurban 1/2 ton status

Is it a miss or a vibration? On high mileage motors, harmonic balancers tend to get tired as the rubber isolator degrades and in turn lets the weighted outer ring slip a bit throwing the assembly out of balance. I've even seen this on motors with as little as 80k on them.

<font color=blue>~BigBurban</font color=blue>

3. ohio_frotyk5

The shimmy is more of a vibration. Th guy that oned it before me had the engine rebuilt. It was probably rebuilt on a budget since he was in college so they didnt replace the harmonic balancer. Thanks again.

4. Scoobydoo

Scoobydoo 1/2 ton status

Phoenix / Peoria ARIZONA. (75thAve/DeerValley)
    Sounds like it could be your motor mounts. I would definetly at least test them before you go to all the trouble of pulling the harmonic balancer.
    "engine shimmy" is a very unspecific description, if you are saying it starts running rough? you may just need a tune up.

5. ohio_frotyk5