Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Engine Swap and Build Thread

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by noahrob, Jan 19, 2007.

  1. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    So over the course of the last few trips, I began to notice a lose of power. Also, I was getting frustrated as heck with the carb, granted it was better with a couple of fixes from the CK5 Tech section, and the lockright in the front helped tons, but at the end of the day, I knew I wanted some type of Fuel Injection.

    My buddy turned me onto a thread here in CK5 and after a detour on my honeymoon (yes, I said a detour on my honeymoon) I had my new to me engine, a 1986 5.7L TPI. Now the fun...

    Here is the thread I started in the injeciton section to get me going, where I asked incredibly stupid question, and really cool guys like 4X4High, Shoutherspeed, SierraClassic answered a lot of questions, thank you guys...

    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=193978


    OK, here we go:
    1) Out comes the 383
    2) In goes the ORD cross memeber (this was a PITA) and DIY4X engine mounts
    3) In goes the new engine
    4) Fancy home made bracket since the engine had a hydroboost power steering pump and when I put mine on the brakets were all different.
    5) Electric Fuel pump

    Picture 003.jpg

    Picture 009.jpg

    Picture 014.jpg

    Picture 046.jpg

    Picture 051.jpg
     
  2. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    1) The fuel return line is going to dump into the filler neck, so I had to get a bung (my new favorite word of the week) and a 1" hole saw.

    2) I decided to use my long tube Doug Thorley's which means the O2 sensor have to get on there...another bung!

    3) Here is the 3/8 inlet to the filler neck (no comments on that weld please:crazy: )

    4) Headers on...

    Picture 093.jpg

    Picture 094.jpg

    Picture 096.jpg

    Picture 097.jpg
     
  3. muddermilitia

    muddermilitia ThatTrazerGuy GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    Looking good, keep up the good work :thumb:
     
  4. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Update...things were going great until I had a major accident...luckily, duct tape can fix anything...:D

    Picture 098.jpg

    Picture 099.jpg

    Picture 100.jpg

    Picture 101.jpg
     
  5. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    Did you hurt yourself or did you have a slipper blowout?:D

    Ira
     
  6. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Slipper blowout...if I put a picture everytime I hurt myself workin on my truck, CK5 would be a porn site of my body parts...I am sure I am like most of us, when I say I put "blood, sweat, and tears" into my truck, I am not joking. But man, when it finally works....ahhhh:D and when it doesn't..well:mad:
     
  7. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    I tracked down and labeled all the engine side wires BEFORE I fed the harness thru the firewall...good news is that I know what all (most) the wires are for, the bad news is I drilled the hole in the firewall in the wrong place...dooh.

    Picture 107.jpg
     
  8. chromewontgetyouhome

    chromewontgetyouhome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Big Island, Hawaii
    What problems did you run into with the ORD crossmember?
     
  9. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    What kind of fuel pump is that? It will supply the needed pressure to the TPI setup?
     
  10. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    working in the rain sucks...but I made a lot of progress...Got the harness on, the computer mounted and the clip back on...


    The fuel pump is an airtek, I got the part number from Ryan B.'a TPI thread in teh tech section..rated at 125 psi

    Picture 108.jpg

    Picture 117.jpg

    Picture 120.jpg
     
  11. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Also, the only issue I has with the ORD cross member was drilling holes...not really an issue, more just a PITA to get the drill wedged between the springs and the frame...
     
  12. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Well, I probably would have gotten it running today except I decided to redo teh fuel line...I was going hose and decided to just do the stupid hard line...Also, I need a new throttle cable (any thoughts). I tried using one from a camaro, but no workie...which means I have a brand new throttle cable for sale...

    Also, when I truned the key one, I clearly heard the fuel pump come on, good right? Should fuel come out right away or not until the engine turns over...?

    Picture 129.jpg

    Picture 131.jpg
     
  13. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Ugh. I wish I knew the throttle cable I've got. What year did you end up with?

    Mines a Camaro app, had to modify the firewall just a tad to make the "clip" work there, and the length was plenty (actually a complete extra loop lol) but it works fine.

    Whats the end on the cable? Barrel or other? Mines a barrel end that slips into the TB linkage. I think I may still have the email where I went over this with the guy I got the stuff from. IIRC there are only two styles, the '85-89 and 90-92, but the year break may be different. I've got an '87 TB. Maybe a pic of your throttle body where the linkage goes if its not the "groove/barrel" setup like I'm trying to (poorly) describe.

    Yes, fuel pump will run with KOEO, but no spray until it cranks. Should shut off after a couple of seconds at most of run time with no cranking.
     
  14. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Cool, then I am almost there...

    the camaro calbe I have has a barrel end on it, like what you woudl use for th ebrake lever of a bicycle...but the linkage on the TPI needs a cable with a hole in it like the carb...how did you loop it, maybe I'll try that?
     
  15. buefchris

    buefchris 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    buena park ca.
    I put a TPI out of a 90 corvette in my 85 pickup, they can try your Patience with all the codes and limited selection of camshafts that the computer will accept. I hope you have a easier time than I did.
     
  16. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Since this a a complete engine, with harness and computer out of a running truck, I am hopeful it will work well out of the gate. Might be abel to start it today, need to figure out how to hook up the tach...but then...vrmmm...
     

Share This Page