Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

engine troubles

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bonesaw118, Jul 4, 2006.

1. bonesaw118

bonesaw118 Newbie

yeah i'm new to this whole forum stuff but....i just bought a 91 k5 with a stock 350 in great condition....anyways its been running fine until the other day just lost tons of power at full throttle.....it has more power at half throttle than full throttle. anyways i figured it was a fuel problem so i replaced the fuel filter and it was almost completely clogged but it didn't really change anything...and now its even worse. when i start it and put it in gear it dies...i have to keep the rpms up in order to put it in gear. i checked the timing and it was 20 degrees advanced for some reason and when i tried to put it back to 10 degrees advanced it died on me. i checked the spark plugs the cap and rotor. the check engine light isn't coming on either so its not setting any codes....
    do you guys have any clue what it could be?

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

sounds like ya got crud up in the injectors.. And you need to disconnect the est wire for timing it..

3. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Sounds to me like a bad fuel pump, i had very similiar symptoms when my pump was dying on me.

Also as was already stated you must disconnect the EST wire before you attempt to time this vehicle. It is located near the brake booster and is a single tan wire connector.

4. bonesaw118

bonesaw118 Newbie