Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Evaluate my welds...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84gmcjimmy, Apr 16, 2004.

1. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

Okay I tried welding for about 10 minutes again today and got a few welds done. I'm a novice keep in mind. So for all those who are good at MIG welding, so tell me that bad things about my welds, and the good things. I had one problem with the line speed, I think I set it to high because for some of the welds it would just shoot out and not be able to weld, then when it did weld it did like hops... so you can see that down in the pics... I am learning, so tell me what I need to do to make them better /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Sorry the pics are a bit big, but I wanted the best detail of the beads for you guys to see.

-Steve

2. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

Hey, that looks familiar! I got to the point where I could write my name, and took it to my welding guru. First thing he said was "grind it off and do it again."

So I took the grinder to it and the beads just flew off -- they weren't burnt in enough. Did it again, brought it back, and now I have a piece of stock with my name in it. /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

Now, I'm not saying you're in the same boat. I think I was working on 1/4" stock, so I had to turn up my rig to burn through.

What I am saying is that you should take a grinder to the beads, and if they're a PITA to get off .... you did good /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif