Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Excessive smoking, need help

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by levib, Jan 4, 2006.

1. levib

levib Registered Member

I have a 87 K5 with the 6.2 in it, and on start up its started smoking a ton. It smokes less as it warms up, but still to much and a lot more than it used to. I'm not a mechanic but I can usually fix my truck and I was looking for suggestions as to what could be causing the problem, and how to check it.

2. kennyw

kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

Is it getting colder down there? Diesels usually smoke more when the motor is cold. As long as it is still normal after it warms up it should be fine.

3. levib

levib Registered Member

Well it's a large cloud of white smoke and it comes out both sides of the dual exaust. It's not due to the cold, it was doing it when it was warmer but I didnt have time to work on it because of school so it's been in the driveway since.

4. kennyw

kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

ok... that sounds a little different than your first post. White smoke may be coolant/water. Have you been loosing coolant?

5. painterbccc

painterbccc Registered Member

My 1988 6.2 smokes like that sometimes. I keep eye on oil and water levels. Both stay full. I was buying fuel at big station. I started buying fuel at a small store. after about a tank of fuel at small store it had quit with light colored smoke. Was in town and needed fuel and got some at big station. Sure enough it started light color smoke. I've been wondering if they are pouring something in the diesel fuel now that it costs more than gas. I guess the joke is on us. Thinning old used oil with old cooking oil. There lets see if that will work. Look at the consumer they will buy anything.

6. levib

levib Registered Member