Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Experienced welders: LOOK HERE

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by AZPiNsTrIpEd, Feb 27, 2006.

1. AZPiNsTrIpEd

AZPiNsTrIpEd 1/2 ton status

How old were you when you first learned how to weld, and who taught you(unless self taught)? I'm 21 and really getting the itch to buy a welder and just start playing around with it. I wasnt lucky enough to have access to one when I was younger or else I'd probably be building my own cage now:mad: . So how how do you guys suggest I get my feet wet so I can eventually build my truck how I want.

2. thezentree

thezentree 3/4 ton status

I'm taking a GMAW class at my local community college, and it's unbelievably awesome. We've done a lot of SMAW so far to try and get us started, since all three of us (yea, there's only 3 people in my class) are beginners, but we should start with GMAW this week. I'm gonna try and certify with either process, maybe both by the end of the semester.

If you have the spare time, I HIGHLY recommend taking a welding class. Our shop is a semester old, and we've got a ton of nearly brand new machines. Chances are your CC will have some good if not great machines too, so if you wanna learn, learn to play with the big, cool toys.

3. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

24 when i started and i still dont know how correctly

4. AZPiNsTrIpEd

AZPiNsTrIpEd 1/2 ton status

Thats encouraging:haha:

5. ChickenRammit

ChickenRammit 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner