Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

F-SMOG CHECK 2

Discussion in 'Pacific Region' started by chris672, May 1, 2002.

  1. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    I took my truck in yesterday to get smogged hoping to get it to pass before the new smog check 2 went into effect today. I had a pretest done and the EGR valve wasn't working so I replaced that but I couldnt get it back in to get it tested. Now I have to try and get it smogged tomarrow. I called and the price of a pretest went from $15 to $34 and the test sent from $40 to $68. WTF!! It Better pass!
     
  2. sarazk5

    sarazk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    You guys are just now getting smog check 2? Has been in force in Sacramento for a while. Yeh our rates went up too but they went back down after a while. Too much competition. Anyway... My truck passed it and it was running kinda rich. You shouldn't have any problems.
     
  3. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Smog Check 2?? What's that?
     
  4. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    I was going to say that too..LMAO...lol...Isn't that nice steve no smog checks..HE HE...mike..But chris I would definately get the pre-test then not and come up a gross potuter (s/p)
     
  5. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    With smog check 2 they put your truck on a dyno and put a load on it to simulate highway speeds. I am definitly getting a pretest. I used to have a Toyota that ended up being a gross polluter, I had never heard about this until after the truck failed and everyone told me I should get a pretest.
     
  6. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    sara,
    do you have a lift and big tires on your k5? I was wondering if the extra weight of the tires might put a bigger load on the engine and cause the emmisions to be higher? Am I just paranoid?
     
  7. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    I'm pretty lucky I guess, I live in Cali, and my truck is a '76, so it does have to be smoged, but it's not CA emmisions. Federal standards. Only thing I have that even resembles smog is the PCV valve. No cats, no egr, lol, nothin. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     
  8. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    IT PASSED!! barely
    max CO .62 and mine tested at .61
    What a relief, two years before I have to do this again.
     
  9. sarazk5

    sarazk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    thats exactly what mine did.
     
  10. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    I'm glad I don't have to smog mine. I live in one of the smog free county's!!!!!!!
     

Share This Page