Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

FAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWK!!! (sorry may offend) Adult Language

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Leadfoot, Jan 15, 2003.

1. Leadfoot

Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I just had to get this off my chest. Monday afternoon/evening my 78 was broken into and had quite a bit of stereo equipment and interior items stolen. I called the security office (I'm a clinical engineer at a large hospital in Western Mass and park in a "secure" parking lot where you have to have a permit to park) who came to look at the damage.
    The thiefs pried the lock out of the passenger's side door (door was less than two years old). They trashed the interior taking my amp, kicker boxes, wiring, and center console. All the custom interior work that the previous owner did (they do custom interiors and glasswork) was trashed.
    I then called the local cops who showed up and take a half-a$$ed report.

I then call the insurance company the next morning at 8a.m. they told me to get quotes from a couple of different body shops, gets quotes of the lost equipment, and quotes to fix the tonneau and redo the interior.

Body shop $530 for damage repairs
    Interior fixes and tonneau (same shop) was $600
    and stolen stereo equipment, console, etc. $1200
    There is also my time for installing new equipment or paying somebody to do it (2.5 hours at $30/hr shop labor) for $75 which is cheap.

Total conservative estimate is $2400.

Insurance company adjuster said I pay my $500 deductable and they will give me a check for $300.

$500 + $300 = $800 What the [censored] happened to the other $1600 /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif