Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Factory ammeter to factory voltage gage swap

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by FWP, Aug 6, 2001.

  1. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Has anyone tried this? I did a search on ammeter, and didn't see anything. I'm interested to see what you did, before I delve into this project.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com>fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  2. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Should be a lot easier to make that swap than going from a voltmeter to an ammeter. An ammeter requires alot more heavy gauge wiring to be installed properly. Needs more of a direct contact with the alternator/battery. Whereas with a voltmeter you can tap into any 12 volt source in the truck to hook it up...a groundwire hookup and maybe power for a light and thats it.

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  3. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    I know what your saying, thanks. I'm puttin a voltmeter into the factory cluster in place of the ammeter.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com>fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  4. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Top. Anybody else have ideas.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com>fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  5. Itali83

    Itali83 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Posts:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westbrook Maine
    Well, I know that my new autometer guages that took the place of the factory one I sold you, all I had to do was hook up a 12 volt wire, I got it from the fuse box under the Ign section, so the guage only gets power when the key is on, and then gave the guage a ground wire. Pretty simple, Now I know you don't have the posts marked, pos or Neg, so you'll have to do some expirmenting, but it shouldn't be too hard. Good luck.
    Ben 87 Jimmy
    <font color=blue>Rust=Bad</font color=blue>
     
  6. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    The voltage reading should come right off the alternator. The only concern I have is the other circuits that may be using the ammeter for power (since it's in series). I don't fully understand the schematic for that particular application yet, but as I dig deeper, I will. The whole reason I want to do this is I can tell right away I have something up if the voltage is less than 13V wiith the engine running. The ammeter thing may not be correct as far as I can tell. GM had some definite problems with acceptable wiring practices. &amp;%$*&amp; Bean counters.....LOL.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com>fwp4x4.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  7. K5 NUTT

    K5 NUTT 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction Colorado
    The new "K5 Garage" at Lil Daves garage has all the wiring diagrams from 73 up and about 3 NOS circuit boards to convert...lol.

    Azblazer

    1979 K5 350 TBI
    1976 K5 Chalet
    If it ain't got arizona pinstriping.....you ain't wheelin the pee outa her!
     

Share This Page