Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Factory hydraulic clutch transplant?s

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by OLD DAWG, Aug 16, 2005.

1. OLD DAWG

OLD DAWG 1/2 ton status

I'm sure someone out there used the hydraulic clutch from a mid/late 80s GM in their 1st gen. I'm heading in that direction and was wondering what problems I might run into, such as which pedal assy. to use (1st gen vs the later ones) figuring out pedal throw length, etc. etc. Thanks, Doug

2. Ryan B.

Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

Hey dude.
    A couple of the other guys that have done this: Yukon Jack, ARQ, and Burt4x4, and myself. I studied Burt's setup and did something very similar but improved what i saw might need some tweeking.
    Advance adapters offers a braket for mounting a toyota slave cylinder to a chevy bellhousing. On burts blazer, that AA braket seemed to flex a little, so i built my own braket from 1/4" plate.. mounting it off the two drivers side bellhousing bolts, and taking off the ball stud for the clutch linkage and using that 3rd bolt hole to support the bracket.
    Then i just found where the slave cylinder needed to mount and marked the drill holes on my slave cylinder plate. Slave was from a '80 toyota land cruiser.. Burt posted his part numbers for me.. (see other post i just brought back to the top)
    I used the factory 1st gen pedal. your automatic steering column should already have the sleeve for it, you just need to slide the pedal through and bolt on the keeper.
    The master cylinder itself i ordered for an 87 or 89 chevy K30 1 ton truck.
    I studied burt's pictures for the location of the hole that needs to be drilled on the firewall, using the bolts for the power booster as a reference.