Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Factory oil cooler, good idea or bad to use as transmission cooler?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mpascino, Jun 15, 2002.

  1. mpascino

    mpascino 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Posts:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Any one do this? I figure it's free, larger, and has a flow through design.
    Mike
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    That is exactly what I am doing. It is the best cooler you can get. Summit sells the same exact cooler made by B&M for about 60.00 but I just simply acquired another oil cooler to use.
     
  3. Mudzer

    Mudzer 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Actually, the B&M tranny cooler for 26,000 GVW is a factory GM oil cooler, if that helps!
     
  4. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Just be sure that the insides of the cooler is clean. Auto trannies don't like dirt, metal shavings, etc. You don't want to save $60 on the price of a new cooler and end up needing a $1500 tranny rebuild because of it. /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif
     
  5. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I've seen people use an air conditioning condensor with no problems.
     
  6. trailblazer87

    trailblazer87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Posts:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madera, CA
    I was always wondering about that, I removed my a/c pump for an air compressor and have the condensor just sitting in my garage doing nothing. I thought about trying to convert it, anything special I need to do?
     
  7. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    You might have to cut the connecting ends off and then flare the tube so that the hoses have someting to hang on to. It seemed to work great on the setups that I saw. Don't know of a bigger cooler.
     
  8. Highlander

    Highlander 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Colo
    I did that to my condenser when I put a new 700r in my K5 It wasn't to hard to do. the biggest pain was some new fittings for the condenser (I did it on a sunday )I ran the line from the tranny to the cooler to the rad. back to the tranny. I got new hose from NAPA the hose ran me 4.00$ a ft I got 12ft of 3/8 hose oem is 5/16 I think. So far I'm happy with the setup my Eng. runs cooler as well.

    Eric
     

Share This Page