Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Fan controls.......

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ftn96, Jul 5, 2001.

  1. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    [​IMG] I have replaced the freaking fan motor, I've replaced the freaking fan switch in the dash control unit.
    And the damn thing still wont work on high, adn even at the other settings it just cuts off then I flip on low and then back to medium and it starts working again, only to shut off again in 5 minutes[​IMG][​IMG]
    WTF? What else is there to replace?

    When in doubt.....Use the Saws-all[​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</A>
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    I dunno if this is yer problem but my ground wire going to the fan motor was quite corroded. My fan would work occasionally[​IMG] and it drove me nuts for quite a while till I cleaned and tightened the ground wire...

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
     
  3. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    When I replaced the motor I made sure all the contacts were squared away.
    I seem to remember something about a resistor. But Im not sure what it looks like or where it is.

    When in doubt.....Use the Saws-all[​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</A>
     
  4. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    This was on an s-10, but my blower motor had gone out. The new one came with a metal "hamster wheel". I then had problems with it not going into high. I replaced the switch, the relay, everything! Then I found out that the metal wheel was causeing too much resistance cause it was heavier than the plastic one the original had. I found an original plastic one and put it on and it worked fine after that. I dunno if that helps or not [​IMG].

    I've got a mind like a . . . a . . . what's that thing called?

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/muddin4fun79blazer/>http://www.geocities.com/muddin4fun79blazer/</A>
     
  5. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Yes, that is what I was goign to suggest, the resistor.. It should be somewhere close by the fan motor if I am not mistaken. This contorls the juice going to the fan fromt he switch.

    <font color=green>MIKE</font color=green> - "Hukd on fawnics,werkd fer me!"
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/emmettology101>http://www.geocities.com/emmettology101</A>
     
  6. MRBIGBLOCK

    MRBIGBLOCK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Posts:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    paragould arkansas
    all good queses but it is the high speed blower relay,a little metal box,all G.M. products use this setup,the resistor is fer lower speeds ,high speed uses straight 12 volts for high speed! hope this is it. ithis relay is under hood the large purple wire from b.m. goes to it.
     
  7. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Yep, on the lower speeds, the fan blower relay routes power through the various resistors to regulate blower speed. When you switch to Hi, then the relay switches so that power to the blower is coming straight from the battery. Trace the wire from the blower motor and it will take you straight to the relay mounted on the firewall or a/c box.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</A>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     

Share This Page