Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Few questions on a 700r4

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 84CUCV, Dec 1, 2006.

  1. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Truck is a 91 k5 with a 5.7L. For some reason when i am doing about 60 or so. the 700 seams to drop back to 3rd a lot. I dont drive fast if that matters. At 60 i thought it would stay in 4th. Even if i tap the gas a little drops to 3rd. I know very little about this trans. my other trucks are 400s and no computer. SO could it be something with the TC? As always any help would be great. thx!!
     
  2. PsRumors

    PsRumors 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
  3. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Sounds like a place to start. if its not rightis it still ok to drive? thx
     
  4. PsRumors

    PsRumors 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
    Maybe or maybe not. I am still learning about the TV setup. Depending on the way it is adjusted it could be ok to drive or it could burn it up quickly.
     
  5. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Burn it up!! i didnt know it was that bad. crap thx
     
  6. PsRumors

    PsRumors 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
    At least that is what Bowtie Overdrive states.
     
  7. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Didnt read to much there yet, but i will.
     
  8. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    TV cable MUST be set right. But are you sure it's shifting and it's not just the TCC unlocking? When it does it, shift down to D. If it changes down then it was just your TCC unlocking.
     
  9. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    OK what is the TCC? thx
     
  10. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Sorry, torque converter clutch.
     
  11. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    there is a cluch on the tc? can you tell me a bit more? i know very little about 700s. thx
     
  12. PsRumors

    PsRumors 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
    That is basicly what a torque converter is, a clutch. It continually slips unless of course you have a lock up TC. Once it is locked up it no longer slips. This is usually done at cruising speeds, it is automatic.

    If what you are feeling is the TC locking and unlocking that is normal. The next time you are cruising and the trans "shifts" pull it down into drive and see if the RPMs change or stay the same. If they stay the same the the trans did kick down to drive. If they increase then what you felt was the TC unlocking which is normal.
     
  13. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    ok i got ya. thx
     
  14. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    All stock 91 k5. 32" tires. thats it. dont see how that could change anything,
     
  15. KGsK5

    KGsK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Havre de Grace, Maryland
    in my 83 with the 6.2 and 700 it would do just about the same thing... it downshifted very easily from 4th... i have 33s and stock gearing and axles... i also just burnt up my 700 and am working on a rebuild. im not sure if they were related or not but i would definitively check your TV cable adj.
     
  16. MA87K5

    MA87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2000
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicopee, Ma 01020
    I believe that if you change your tire size and/or gear ratio you need to adjust your TV cable to compensate.
     
  17. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    NO!! Never 'adjust' your TV cable. It needs to be 'set' to a pricise value for the throttle valve to work properly. It nothing like the old 3 speed kick down cables.
     
  18. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    If you cant adjust the cable how do you know its right then?
     
  19. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    It's set to a certain value, not adjusted as such. Go to www.tvmadeez.com and read the article 101 (tab at top of page.) It's interesting stuff plus it tells you how to set the cable. Because the cable is the only link to the engine it controls line pressure and helps to command shifts. There is no vacuum lines on a 700. The gearbox 'needs to know' where the throttle is exactly to work out what to do where as a 350 would have a vacuum signal to aid it. The governer is only part of the shifting equation.
     
  20. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Yup, Mark's on the money...

    This has come up a quite a bit in here... I've said it before too, I'm definitely not a fan of the "move it a few clicks and drive it" thought process on this one..

    It is truly a "set it" not "adjust it" scenario... I know it can be a bit of a confusing read, but everyone with a 700r4 should go over Mark's link a couple times..

    It's a simple process that takes 5 minutes... Release the D button or whatever retention method your cable uses, slide the cable all the way towards the firewall, release button, give full throttle, it'll click a few clicks out... done..
     

Share This Page