Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

file transfers?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by MTChevy, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. MTChevy

    MTChevy 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    I got a whooole craplad of files I want to get over to my lap top but dont have any blank CD's or a jumpdrive or anything like that. Any suggestions on how to transfer em over? thanks.
     
  2. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
  3. MTChevy

    MTChevy 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    wow i think my brain just short circuited:eek1:
     
  4. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
  5. MTChevy

    MTChevy 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    is that an ethernet cable basically? I got one of them, can i use it?
     
  6. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Basically the same thing but one of te RJ45 connectors is wired differently. You could make one though
     
  7. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    I'ts an ethernet cable that's been wired up differently (in a crossover format - see first link) Basically what it does is let you hook 2 computers up and bypass the need for a hub between the computers. With that specialty cable, you can hook 2 computers directly together with that cable and it's just like they're networked on a hub.

    Clear as mud? :D
     
  8. wasted wages

    wasted wages 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    9,194
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    I am planning on updating one of the PC's here in my office also,,the primary drive is too small (9.7 gig) that is loaded with data and files...

    I would like to put dual 80 gig drives in it ( remove the OEM drive and install 2 new drives )and use norton ghost to mirror the drives.

    Could I save the exsisting primary drives data onto another PC by using a crossover cable ??
     
  9. ARAMP1

    ARAMP1 Aviator Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    You can also use one of these. It's basically a USB cable with the same end on each side. I believe it's called a USB transfer cable. It's kind of slow though.

    DSC02627.JPG
     
  10. MTChevy

    MTChevy 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    whats a firewire? looks to be the same?
     
  11. ARAMP1

    ARAMP1 Aviator Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I believe firewire has a different type plug. This is just the standard USB ends. Connect one to each of the computer and you can transfer files.

    Click Here.
     
  12. 1BadK-30

    1BadK-30 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    this is what a firewire looks like

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page