Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Finally got the k5 back...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by atlantak-5er, Mar 5, 2006.

  1. atlantak-5er

    atlantak-5er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Just had the suspension and driveshafts done
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Thats a clean 75 man, really clean! Looks good !:laugh: Can you give a shot of some rust, to make me feel better?:haha: :D
     
  3. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,959
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Is it just me, or does your "75" Blazer have frames around the door windows a la a 76+?

    -- A
     
  4. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Yeah, i think your right, hes lyin!!!!! That aint a 75!!!! :haha: j/k
     
  5. atlantak-5er

    atlantak-5er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It is a 75 w/ 81 Doors. I'm waiting for some donor door to get all the pieces to keep the glass from flopping all around once I chop the frames.

    All the rust was fiberglassed by "bubba" before I got it. But, actually, the only really rust spot was on the radiator support of all places.
     
  6. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Lookin good man! You need to do something about that rear shock setup though.:doah: Dont want to let that shackle flip and 57's be limited by the shocks do ya.:D Nice truck though.
    -Harrison
     
  7. atlantak-5er

    atlantak-5er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I got the ultra long gabriels that everyone talks about on here. Is it still limiting my flex? What should I run? These things are frikkin long as he11? I guess I'll have to check to see if it limits my flex.
     
  8. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,959
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Ah, if you run soft-top, keep the door frames. You may look like a Ramcharger, but it's easier than trying to seal the doors :D

    -- A
     
  9. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    What is limiting your flex is the way the shocks are setup. The stock location to the frame like yours works for a stock truck, but limits your flex with a lift. Most people opt to run an inboard setup (i.e. the shocks bolt to a crossmember between the frame rails). This allows you to push the top of the shock to the bottom of the bed floor and inwards resulting in more travel. The setup im talking about looks like this: /\ Do a search on here for inboard shock setup and you can probably find some pics. I am running an inboard setup from Missouri Offroad Outfitters (MOO is no longer in business btw) and it worked wonders over my old stock setup. You can also make one yourself very easily. Mine came with 4 different mounting locations for each shock so you can run a different length shock depending on what you are doing with the truck. I, of course, have the shocks at the most inward location so I can run the longest shock possible so as not to limit my flex.
    -Harrison
     

Share This Page