Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

firing order questions...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Ben, Mar 25, 2004.

  1. Ben

    Ben Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pick a country in SE ASIA!
    On my manifold, SBC, stamped into it is the firing order; 1,8.....
    Is this related to the distributor cap order of the plug wires?
    Number 1 wire does not have number 8 wire next to it on the cap. No problem?
    What is the firing order stamped for?
    Thanks!
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    yea the wires on the cap should go like this

    .5 7
    6...2____ plugins
    3...1
    .4 8

    if they dont then the motor would not run right
     
  3. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    I would rotate that cap you drew there one notch clockwise really, i have always seen 1 and 8 facing the front, with one facing the no.1 piston. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    [ QUOTE ]
    I would rotate that cap you drew there one notch clockwise really, i have always seen 1 and 8 facing the front, with one facing the no.1 piston. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    That is correct. The number one wire on the dist. needs to be facing the number one cylinder, or at least half way between the 1 & 3 cylinders.
    -Harrison
     
  5. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Actually, guys, I'm pretty sure that as long as the wires follow the proper firing order you can start with the #1 wire on any post on the dist. cap.

    Am I wrong? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    You are correct.

    You can make number one anywhere you want on the cap as long as the distributor is timed to however you set it up.

    I always do it as it is above in the picture so that it's like factory. That way I never have to remember how it is the next time I work on it.

    Where the number one plug wire hooks up makes no difference...when you set your timing it's gonna move around a bit anyway.

    So, you're correct. Number 1 can be anywhere, as long as the wires are in the correct order clockwise from there, and you time it accordingly.
     
  7. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    Well they need to be close, we tried that on a buddy's truck, and couldn't get it to fire until we got them close, but i understand what you are saying. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    But why not just have look "right" while your at it, ya know? /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  8. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    [ QUOTE ]
    Actually, guys, I'm pretty sure that as long as the wires follow the proper firing order you can start with the #1 wire on any post on the dist. cap.

    Am I wrong? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You can also royally [darn] yourself over...ask me how I know /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif
     
  9. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Actually, guys, I'm pretty sure that as long as the wires follow the proper firing order you can start with the #1 wire on any post on the dist. cap.

    Am I wrong? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You can also royally [darn] yourself over...ask me how I know /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yep you can do that too. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  10. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    one thing ive noticed, when you go to buy wires and get vehicle specific, they dont fit unless you have #1 where the factory put it. Trust me, i found out the hard way.
     

Share This Page