Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

first brake job

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by NEK5, Mar 20, 2006.

1. NEK5

NEK5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

ok i`m pretty close to doing my first brake job..front pads are getn bad so time for a change..since this is my first time does any one have any tips/tricks/advice/ or even any instructions?:D

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

if all you are doing is pads, it is a simple job. Pull the wheels, wrench out the caliper/slide bolts. pull the caliper off and pull the pads out. use a really large adjustable pliers or a caliper tool to compress the caliper piston(push it back into the caliper body). If you don't do this the caliper won't fit back over the rotor with the new pads. After that, put on the new pads, use some brake lube(any auto parts store has it) on the slide bolts and reinstall the reverse of how you uninstalled. Disc brakes are so easy.

strongly inspect your rotors. Feel them, if they are really ripply or grooved, replace them or take them to a shop to be cut(either way can be a pain in the butt since the rotors are held to the hubs by the studs, requires removing the lug studs with a press to get the rotors off). A shop with an on-car brake cutter can cut them easily if they are worth cutting(far enough above discard spec). If the rotors are blue or have little spots that are darker than the rest of the rotor or also blue, they should just be flat out replaced(this is heat distortion and damage causing hard spots and likely warping).

3. Hobbs

Hobbs Registered Member

I just did my first. Everything went back together but now I have a pull to one side when braking, that I did not have before.

Any suggestions?

4. NEK5

i`m gonna go out on a limb here and maybe say warped rotors?

5. beater_k20

beater_k20 Banned