Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

First Gen. with 4" and 1 ton axles??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Klef72K5, May 29, 2004.

  1. Klef72K5

    Klef72K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    Anyone in here have a first generation with a 4" lift and 1 ton axles with no body lift? What tire size are you running? Got pics? What brand of lift are you using?

    I'm wanting to run 35's. I figured that my current set up (6"lift on stock axles and 33's) would look the same as a 4" with 1 ton axles and 35's. Any thoughts? Youu can see how my Blazer looks now in my pic link.
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    Why would you need or want 1 ton axles for 35" tires?
     
  3. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    [ QUOTE ]
    Why would you need or want 1 ton axles for 35" tires?

    [/ QUOTE ]
    um for peace of mind when he is out on the trails. hell i broke my 12bolt twice with 33's /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
     
  4. TONYP

    TONYP 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so cal
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    I have a bud with 33's on 1tons and that guy can go over anything...
     
  5. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    I had 1 tons under my first K5 (72) with 35's for till I got some 38's.
     
  6. Klef72K5

    Klef72K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    [ QUOTE ]
    Why would you need or want 1 ton axles for 35" tires?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Because I'm a 31 year old male and who looks at women and drinks beer and plan on putting a 502 in it.

    It only makes sense to me. My current axles needs gears and a locker so your looking at $800 plus my time. With CUCV 1 tons they come with the gears I want and a Detroit for $1500. Ya there's a $700 difference, but I'm only doing it once, plus I can sell the 44 and 12 bolt to help offset the $700. Sounds damn near free to me, except for my time.
     
  7. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    No need to justify to anyone man....1 TONS are cool
     
  8. Bhintz

    Bhintz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Posts:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, Ga
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    [ QUOTE ]
    No need to justify to anyone man....1 TONS are cool

    [/ QUOTE ] yep just went that route yesterday /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  9. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    I'm running about 3" lift in the rear and about 4 up front (73+ TC EZ-rides up front and sagged out stock springs with ORD shackle flip). I am running 36" TSL's and a fair ammount of trimming. I already have a 4.56 14BFF with disc brakes and have a matching D60 to replace the 3/4-ton D44 that I will start swapping in sometime soon.
     
  10. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Re: First Gen. with 4\" and 1 ton axles??

    [ QUOTE ]
    Why would you need or want 1 ton axles for 35" tires?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I broke a 10 bolt with 31's. Give me time and I will bust my 1 ton's with 37's. /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     

Share This Page