Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

First post......slips out of 4 High

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Big Block Dave, Nov 24, 2002.

1. Big Block Dave

Big Block Dave Registered Member

Hey guys, Ive poked around this site since I bought my Jimmy back in June, but this is my first post, so be gentle;)

Im relatively new to the whole 4x4 thing, and admittedly I bought my Jimmy for the purpose of towing my 67 Chevelle to the track(yes the Big Block is inthe Chevelle), BUT having a father and a brother who both own 74 Broncos(yeah yeah I know...Ford guys), and checking out this page, I do have an interest in 4 wheeling, but moreover, Im not well enough versed in "4x4 science 101" to trouble shoot 4x4 related stuff, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Ive noticed that If I put my truck in 4 High either on some grass or wet pavement, that the shifter will move by itsself from 4h to 2h as I slow down. It doesnt "pop out", just slowly creeps out of 4hi as the rpms and nose start to come down.

I can gently hold the shifter in place and it will stay in 4h, without tugging at it, but who the hell wants to do that for lets say 25 miles worth of winter street driving.

It stays in 4Low with no problem.

Any ideas of what he problem may be? I was thinking maybe the trans mount is worn or something allowing flex and maybe the shifter is rubbing the floor pan, but maybe Im just being wishful for a simple cheap fix.

Basically Im coming to you folks as the more knowledgeable folks who have probably experienced this before.......If not, I now just look like an ass!:D

Sorry about the novel and thanks in advance!

2. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

OK Dave