Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Flat cam

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bobalob, Sep 18, 2005.

1. bobalob

bobalob 1/2 ton status

:mad: on the way to work last week i suddenly lost about 50% power and oil pressure so i brang to shop after work and they replaced oil with 20-50 and got good pressure but said cam was flat and would be 700 for new 268 cam and lifters installed. Unfortunately i am poor so i bought cam+lifters, gaskets, tools and began disassembly. So far it has gone good and interesting seeing the guts of that thingy that makes me go. Now I have cam and lifters out(completely wiped out) and am ready to start reassembly,given that i have no experience what so ever any tips, tricks, instructions, cautions would be greatly appreciated. It is a 350 carbed motor with only about 5000 miles on it!

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

One thing that threw me a curve a few times was the timing chain installation. The books I have all show the dots lined up so the cam gear dot is at 6 o'clock and the crank gear dot is at 12 o'clock. This makes line up idiot proof, so that method is good that way...but the motor is then at #6 TDC not #1.

So, what would usually happen to me is I'd drop the distributor in thinking I was on #1 and the damn thing wouldn't start. Then I'd eventually figure out the distributor was out 180 degrees.

What I'd do is get the timing chain on as shown in the book, then rotate the engine until both dots are at 12 o'clock and button it up. Then when you drop in the distributor it will actually be correct the first time and should fire up without any trouble.