Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Flatbedding my K5.... dual wheels?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Cavalry, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. Cavalry

    Cavalry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY(although I cant figure out why)
    Well as some of you may remember my K5 is pretty whooped. The frame however is in very nice shape. I really like the wheelbase of this truck for plowing so I plan on keeping it instead of just buying a pickup. I dont wheel it , just work it.

    Plans so far. Ditch the Blazer body, put on a pickup cab (already purchaced) and a little flatbed. Now I want a HD drivetrain and suspension in this truck so I bought a 3/4 ton for the drivetrain. Today I found a killer deal on a D60, narrow 14bolt and set of rims and tires from a dually. So what do you think?

    Choices:
    3/4 ton single wheel
    one ton dually
    find some SRW hubs and make it a one ton single
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2006
  2. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    one ton drw, with 56's mounted backwards for 4 inches extra wheelbase.
     
  3. Cavalry

    Cavalry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY(although I cant figure out why)
    extra wheelbase= less turning radius. not what I want
     
  4. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    where are you in upstate ny? and i vote 56 backwards and drw style 1 ton.
     
  5. Cavalry

    Cavalry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY(although I cant figure out why)
    I am near amsterdam.


    I have been out of the K5 loop for a few years now, as my truck has been sitting, and had to read up on 52"&56" springs. I dont really need any lift, as I am using 3/4 ton diesel springs. That should make the truck sit 3"-4+" higher than stock 1/2 ton anyway. Truck will most likely never see anything offroad. Just snow and maybe some minor mud.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2006
  6. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    well you are a bit away from my area. nice to know i am not alone in this crapy state.
     
  7. muddermilitia

    muddermilitia ThatTrazerGuy GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    I also plan on putting a pickup cab and flatbed on my blazer but have noticed that all the blazer body mounts are on the outside of the frame rail. The rear body mounts on the cab are on the inside of the frame. You are going to need to make new mounts or a crossmember from a pickup might work, I picked one up last week but dont know if it will work in the blazer frame
     
  8. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    bigorangejimmy i think:

    HPIM1056.JPG
     
  9. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    nevermind you cant see attached images.

    its a pick of a truck cab on blazer frame
     
  10. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
  11. muddermilitia

    muddermilitia ThatTrazerGuy GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    That looks pretty sweet. cant wait to get my cab on my blazer. Im going wheeling end of the month and after that I am going to start the cab swap. Im pretty sure there wont be anything left of my body after i am done wheelin. Rockers are sagging and broken, lots of holes in the floor drivers door is hard to close and the passenger door has a gap of about 1/4" at the top and almost 3/4" at the bottom
     
  12. Cavalry

    Cavalry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY(although I cant figure out why)
    yeah already been down that road. My crossmembers came from the 3/4 donor. It was a quick and sleazy swap.
     
  13. muddermilitia

    muddermilitia ThatTrazerGuy GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    You didn't need to modify the crossmember, it fit right in? Mine came out of a 1 ton is that the same as 3/4 ton
     
  14. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I dont know if you would want duals in the snow and ice. I would think it would let the back tires spin easier. less weight per footprint ya know.
     
  15. Cavalry

    Cavalry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY(although I cant figure out why)
    yeah that is a concern. I have a few dualies they will float on heavy snow at times. you have to either have weight in the rear or rely on the front axle
     

Share This Page