Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

floor mount high beam switch

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by tecton, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    anyone have these in their trucks

    i used to in my old k10, loved the clicking noise it made
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Mine is still in my 75 burb /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. clubba68

    clubba68 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Posts:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eugene-Portland, Oregon
    Yep, I have one in my '70 K5 and I love it! Don't know if it is going to be functional after the Painless Wiring Harness goes in though. Anyone know how difficult it is to get to the connection on the back side of it? Someone told me it couldn't be pulled up out of the floor, that I had to get at it from the back side which I see as not worth the time or effort.
    -Andrew /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,181
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    My 81 still has the floor switch...I prefer the dimmer on the stalk though.

    The switch is held down to the floor with a couple of screws, really easy to remove.

    Rene
     
  5. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    what year is your rig ? or column ?

    anyone 83 and older has one..

    i liek column mounted, i wish my 83 was anyways, its easier to find than floor one and easier and quicker to flick also /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif wipers are still on dash and that sucks too, wish it were an 84 column
    anyone else like their stuff on the column and wish theirs were, or no ?
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I use one in my 91 Burb to turn on the laser beams (KC 165 watt Daylighters)..........best switch for off road lights I have ever used. No more fumbling around for the switch, and just punch it and lights are on or off.
     
  7. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,181
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Re-read my post. I have an 81 and the switch is on the floor. Column is orginal.

    Rene
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I had one in my '83. I don't think it was a good setup.

    Trucks aren't waterproof, rust easily, and tend to get muddy feet placed in them quite often. Mine shorted out one night due to rust/water. Thought I had a fire in the cab.
     
  9. TONYP

    TONYP 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so cal
    got one.... /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
     
  10. Beast388

    Beast388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton, IA USA
    Of course my '71 has one. One time it went bad....I was cruising down the highway and went to flick on the hi-beams...but when I clicked the switch all of my headlights went out! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif That sucked at 70mph! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  11. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    where can you get them?

    be kinda cool to have a couple down there...give my left foot something to do /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  12. Beast388

    Beast388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton, IA USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    where can you get them?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Any decent parts store would have them. Ask for a HI-beam switch for a '71 GMC whatever and the parts jockey should be able to get one for ya. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    [ QUOTE ]
    give my left foot something to do

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thats what clutches are for. (J/K!!!)

    why couldn't you just go get ones that were stock for the trucks?
     
  14. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    When I build my "new" Blazer, I think I'm going to have brights on the column, but install a floor dimmer switch too and use it for my starter. I have a friend who used to have a 76 Impala. He swapped columns on it and got one with a column dimmer, so then he used his floor switch as an on/off switch for his amp.
     

Share This Page