Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Floor shifter Q

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by southernspeed, Jan 22, 2004.

  1. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    I'm replacing my manual box with a TH350. Can anyone recommend a floor shifter? Anyone got one for sale that they'd be willing to send to England? /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    i would personally swap in an auto column and you could sell the manual column, especially if is tilt one, its not hard to do,

    good luck
     
  3. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    [ QUOTE ]
    i would personally swap in an auto column and you could sell the manual column, especially if is tilt one, its not hard to do,

    good luck

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Selling a GM colum in the UK is not going to be easy. Shipping it back to the US would be cost prohibitive.

    I'd get a B&M Truck Mega Shifter. Jegs or Summit have to ship there.
     
  4. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Thanks guys. It's a floor shift at the moment anyway. I've seen some auto floor shifters that are cable operated and some have a rod linking them like the Lockyear one that bolts to the box itself. I like the idea of a cable one as I could mount it where I like, but are cable ones any good? /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yeah cable is fine. Many GM cars came from the factory with cable operated shifter. The Truck mega shifter is a cable one. It just requires one hole about 3/4 of an inch in diameter and frou screw holes to be bolted down. The linkage is all bolt on to the tranny on the other end.
     
  6. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    I am running a B@M prostick. Cable operated. I like the solid shift gates. I got mine from EBAY for 50.00.
     

Share This Page