Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

flowtech afterburner headers

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 89Jimmy, Mar 19, 2000.

  1. 89Jimmy

    89Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern N.Y. east end of Lake Ontario
    I am looking to buy headers for my '89 350 tbi Jimmy. The ads for flowtech afterburners read pretty good. Is anyone on the board using afterburners on a small block? Mainly interested in if you could feel any drivability difference,and if you put them into a stock exhaust system or made up a new one. Thanks.
    John
     
  2. Blazer79

    Blazer79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guatemala, Central America
  3. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    89Jimmy,

    Yeah, I run afterburners on my 75'K5. I just put a new GM350 crate in it. It bolted up perfect. The only thing different was that I think it was shorter than my old stock elcheapo headers that I had on it originally. I had to cut and weld in longer pipes to make it fit. But it drives much better. Maybe I feel the major difference b/c its a new engine and also my old headers had a hole in it, but either way I like it.
    Boss
     
  4. KENT

    KENT 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roseburg, OR
    Does anyone run these with manual transmision? The info I got said only for Auto trans. What's up with that?

    Kent

    1989 K5
     
  5. Goose

    Goose 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Central Kansas
    The clutch linkage would probably interfere w/the installation on a manual transmission.
     

Share This Page