Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Flywheel Balance

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Cricket, Jan 5, 2005.

1. Cricket

Cricket 3/4 ton status

Ok, I'm new to the 4spd setup and swapping from TH350 to SM465. How can I tell if I have the correct flywheel. Are Chevy flywheels internally and externally balanced or just uniform for the Sm-465? What is the minimum thickness before trashing one?

Currently I have a 350 but will be stroking it to 383 with an internally balanced Scat crank with the 350 mains, will any changes need to be made in the flywheel at that point? :confused:

2. bigblock44k5

bigblock44k5 1/2 ton status

As long as you are certain that the crank you are getting is internally balanced you will use a standard 350 flywheel and damper. If you were using a 400 externally balanced crank then you would use a flywheel and damper with weights on it. Flywheels are more tailored to the engine type than the tranny, you just want to make sure you get the correct clutch diameter for the flywheel and it has to be 10 spline for the input of the 465.

Flywheels are interchangeable to cranks, so any one you get will bolt to your new crank with no mods. You dont need to worry about the minimun thickness of the flywheel because they usually go bad before they get to thin. If there are blue spots on it, it's bad. Either way, if its used, take it to get cut at a machine shop. They will also tell you if its too thin. You can get new billet flywheels on ebay for cheap, thats where I got mine. I would look for a 11" internally balanced 168 tooth flywheel. Then get a good clutch, also 11" with 10x1-1/8 splines. Coil spring type, not diaprahm. This setup will bolt right to the motor and the 465.

3. Cricket

Cricket 3/4 ton status