Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ford 205 doubler

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by 84K5BD, Dec 12, 2005.

  1. 84K5BD

    84K5BD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    arlington, mass
    i need to know if a ford 205 off a 435 would work behind my 400/203 to build a doubler or would i need to find a 205 off an auto.:confused:
     
  2. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,620
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    If my memory is correct any Ford 205 will work they all used the same input splines. It says on the ORD website in the Doubler info.
     
  3. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    AFAIK, all Fords use a short 31 spline female input comparable to the short 32 spline female GM input. You just have to specify ford input spline when you order. That's what I run on mine. I took a 10 spline input GM case with a worn out input spline and bored the case to fit the Ford input. Obviously, you'll need a case with the correct side drop, and most GM cases need to be bored for the larger bearing to use the GM 32 or Ford 31.
     
  4. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    It's not clear if you're looking to use the full 205 or just the input but either will work, check our hybrid applications page in the Doubler info, there's a few examples there. The GM-Ford Doubler is pretty popular since so many guys are using HPD60's. Those 78-79 F250/F350's are GOLD these days!
     
  5. 84K5BD

    84K5BD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    arlington, mass
    i wanted to use the complete 205 so i can have a driver side output. no more 60's for me. i am going to be swapping in 2 front unimog 416 axles and i needed to get a drivers drop. i just didn't know if the input shafts were the same between auto's and standards. i will be doing the swap after the holidays, i be touch thanks
     
  6. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    Fords are great to work with, they're all the same.
     
  7. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hehe, you don't hear that very often... But yeah, they got it right on the tcases. I think GM and Ford swapped engineers for that project. :crazy:
     

Share This Page